Mario's of Windsor, Roozen's Ltd.
|Mario's of Windsor, Roozen's Ltd.|
Mike Skreptak Collection; Red Binder
c. 1967; "Mario's of Windsor, Roozen's Ltd. A delightful experience in dining/ 755 Ouellette Avenue, Windsor, Ont. Canada/ Phone: Windsor - 254-3392, Detroit - WO 2-5330, and Little Bavaria, where steins clink merrily tonight (Fully lic. by L.C.B.O.)." Mike Mario, Eugene Walters and Frank Cundari opened the first "Mario's Lunch" in the British American Hotel in 1929. Mario's moved to 493 Ouellette Avenue in the early 1930s. The building pictured on this postcard was built by architect Garnet Andrew McElroy in 1948. In 1965, Mario's was sold to Kees Roozen. It closed by 1982 and was sold to Pit Martin, a former hockey player, who turned it into a sports bar.
Mario's Tavern (Windsor)
Ouellette Avenue (Windsor)
Little Bavaria (Windsor)
McElroy, Garnet Andrew, Architect
University of Windsor. Leddy Library
Click links to download Tiff images: Tiff Image 1 , Tiff Image 2