Antiquity At Sandwich The Old Jesuit Huron Mission House


(Click to View Larger Image)
Antiquity At Sandwich The Old Jesuit Huron Mission House
Creator(s): Warner, Charles Forbes
Publisher: Picturesque Publishing Company
Date: 1893
Type(s): Photograph
Physical Description: b&w
Source: Picturesque Detroit and Environs / edited by Charles Forbes Warner. Published: Northampton, Mass. : Picturesque Publishing Company, 1893. Page 85
Notes: Photo probably from late 1880s/early 1890s; looking south at the front of the building; it faced the Detroit River; only photo that shows the east wing; built for the Jesuits c. 1747; also served as a convent, a school, and a farm; was located on the north side of London Street (now University Avenue), just east of the Priest's Walk, a path that ran north-south from Assumption Church down to the river. In the late 1880s/early 1890s, the east wing (possibly an earlier addition) was demolished. In April 1900, the E. Girardot Wine Company purchased the property. They built a wine cellar building (completed 1902) just behind the Mission House, likely facing onto London Street (see photo at the Windsor Community Museum). The Mission House was somewhat in the way, so according to the Essex Historical Society papers, it was moved a few hundred feet to the southwest (likely to the west side of the Priest's Walk). In June 1912, the Mission House was struck by lightning and burned down.
Subject(s): Jesuit Missions
Jesuit Mission House
Houses
Log Cabins
London Street (Windsor)
University Avenue (Windsor)
Convents
Place(s): Sandwich (Ontario)
Windsor (Ontario)
Rights: Public Domain
Repository: University of Windsor. Leddy Library
Tiff Image: Click to download original TIFF image